The EUC in Basketball has finally concluded

The European Universities Championship in Basketball has finally concluded on 27th July with an exciting Closing Ceremony in CityZEN sport hall.


Over 400 participants representing 22 Universities from 14 countries took part in this year’s edition of the event.


In men’s finals, the title of champions went to University of Bologna who won a exhilarating final match against Beykent University. Both teams met already in 2018 in Coimbra in EUG Basketball finals and that time also Italian players finished with gold medals. Vytautas Magnus University dominated the 3rd place match against University of Rouen and became 3rd best University basketball team in Europe.


In women’s finals, the title of champions went to University of Strasbourg who won an electrifying final match against University of Vienna, which showed off a lot of skills and commitment, however were not able to keep up a well organised team from France. University of Pitești finished with the bronze medal. Despite showing off a lot of commitment the representatives of Gdańsk University of Technology finished the competition at 4th place.


The medals and awards were presented by EUSA President Adam Roczek, Deputy Mayor of Poznań Katarzyna Kierzek-Koperska, Marshall Office representative Marek Kubiak, Secretary General of Polish Basketball Association Olga Kijewska, vice-president of Polish Basketball Association Eugeniusz Kijewski, EUSA representative Marko Zunic, EUSA Basketball TD Peter George, EUSA Basketball TD assistant Pascale Weiwers, vice-president of AZS Mariusz Walczak.



Final Standings in men’s competition

1. University of Bologna

2. Beykent University in Istanbul

3. Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas

4. University of Rouen

5. University of Pitesti

6. Polytechnic of Madrid

7. College of Management Academic Studies in Netanya

8. Estonian University of Life Sciences in Tartu

9. University of Physical Education in Budapest

10. University of Rennes 2

11. University of Coimbra

12. Gdańsk University of Technology

13. University of Wurzburg

14. Poznań University of Economics



Final Standings in women’s competition

1. University of Strasbourg

2. University of Vienna

3. University of Pitesti

4. Gdańsk University of Technology

5. University of Goettingen

6. University of Physical Education in Budapest

7. University of Aveiro

8. Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek

9. Polytechnic of Madrid

10. Mersin University

11. Adam Mickiewicz University

12. Istanbul Ticaret University


The Most Valuable Player awards were given to Sonia Ursu (University of Pitesti) and Valerio Cucci (Univeristy of Bologna).




- Adam Mickiewicz University



- Beykent University



- Tonisha Baker - University of Vienna

- Amelie Voynet - University of Strasbourg

- Sigrid Koizar - University of Vienna

- Louise Dambach - University of Strasbourg

- Theresa Simon - University of Goettingen



- Paulius Sorokas - Vytautas Magnus University

- Kevin Lavieille - University of Rouen

- Nagy Botond Agoston - University of Physical Education in Budapest

- Ismail Cem Ulusoy - Beykent University

- Tayfun Erulku - Beykent University


MVP Women:

- Sonia Ursu (University of Pitesti)


MVP Men:

- Valerio Cucci (Univeristy of Bologna)


The next EUC will take place in Aveiro (Portugal) in July 2021 and all teams are warmly welcomed to join the next European Universities Basketball Championship.